Editorial Team


Chief Editor:                     Augustine B. Matondo

                                             Department of Veterinary Anatomy & Pathology

                                             College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences,

                                            Sokoine University of Agriculture           

Associate Editor:            Zachariah E. Makondo

Assistant Editor:             Augustino A. Chengula

Circulation Manager:   Wahabu H. Kimaro


Jayro A. Matovelo (PhD). (Tanzania)
Professor of Veterinary Pathology,
Department of Veterinary Anatomy and Pathology, College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Sokoine University of Agriculture
Former Director of Research and Publication and Deputy Vice Chancellor (Administration & Finance), Sokoine University of Agriculture

John D. Mande (PhD)(Kenya)

Associate Professor and Academic Head of Veterinary Surgery and former Chairman of Department of Clinical Studies, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, University of Nairobi. He holds the PhD in Clinical Studies (2003), Master of Science in Clinical Studies (1993) and the Bachelor of Veterinary Medicine (1989) from the University of Nairobi. He is registered by the Kenya Veterinary Board (No. 1078) and a long serving member of the Kenya Veterinary Board. Prof. Mande has over 28 years working experience teaching and practicing veterinary surgery, having risen through the ranks of academic appointments as Assistant Lecturer (1992), Lecturer (1993), Senior Lecturer (2004) and Associate Professor (2015 to date). He has served as External Examiner of Veterinary Surgery at Sokoine University of Agriculture, Tanzania and University of Ghana. He is an active  member of the Kenya Veterinary Association, Kenya Small and Companion Animal Veterinary Association, Kenya National Academy of Sciences and University of Nairobi Alumni Association, where serves as Interim Chair of the Veterinary Medicine Chapter. He has vast administrative and corporate governance experience, having served as Member of the Board of Directors, Kenya Dairy Board (2006-2009), Kenya Veterinary Board (2012-2018) and is currently a Member of the Internship Committee of the Kenya Veterinary Board. He has supervised to completion 5 PhD and currently supervising 2 PhD students as well as 10 Masters students to completion and currently supervising 4 Masters students.  Prof. Mande is the Current Chairman of the Faculty Curriculum Development Committee and a Member of the Faculty Postgraduate Studies Committee.  He has published widely in peer-reviewed scientific journals and has previously served as Editor-in-Chief of Kenya Veterinarian, A Journal of the Kenya Veterinary Association.

Uswege M. Minga (PhD) (Tanzania)
Professor of Microbiology, and Provost Tumaini University, Dar es Salaam College. He also serves as Chairperson-Advisory Board of Tanzania Veterinary Laboratory Agency (TVLA). Professor Uswege is also the former Chief Editor Tanzania Veterinary Bulletin and later Tanzania Veterinary Journal.

Richard S. Silayo (PhD) (Tanzania)
Retired Professor of Parasitology At the Department of Veterinary Microbiology and Parasitology, College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Sokoine University of Agriculture. Currently working at St. Francis University College of Health and Allied Sciences, Ifakara

Bukheti S. Kilonzo (Tanzania)
Retired Research Professor of Entomology Pest Management Centre, Sokoine University of Agriculture

Ludovick D. B. Kinabo (Tanzania)
Professor of Pharmacology & Toxicology and Consultant, Department of Physiology, Biochemistry Pharmacology and Toxicology Sokoine University of Agriculture.

Remmy J. Assey  (Tanzania)
Professor of Veterinary Anatomy and Cell Biology Department of Veterinary Anatomy and Pathology, College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Sokoine University of Agriculture

Mkumbukwa M. Mtambo (Tanzania)
Professor of Veterinary Medicine (small animals) and Director General, Tanzania Industrial Research and Development Organization (TIRDO)

Dominic M. Kambarage (Tanzania)
Professor of Veterinary Medicine, Former Dean of Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and Vice Chancellor (Academic), Sokoine University of Agriculture, former Vice-Chancellor of Mwalimu Julius K. Nyerere University of Agriculture and Technology (MJNUAT) and Immediate past Chairman of Tanzania Veterinary Association.

Abdurrahman Aksoy (Turkey)
Professor of Environmental toxicology, Chromatograpgy, Pharmacokinetics OndokuzMayis University, Turkey

Frederick O.K. Mgongo (Tanzania)
Retired Professor of Veterinary Theriogenology and former registrar, at Sokoine University of Agriculture

Nderilio A Urio (Tanzania)

Professor of Animal Nutrition, currently serves as Vice Chancellor, University of Iringa (Formerly Tumain University College). He previously served as the Director of Solomon Mahlangu Campus (2006-2011), Head of Department of Animal Science and production and later Dean Faculty of Agriculture (1999-2005) at Sokoine University of Agriculture and an affiliate Associate Professor University of Guelph (1984). Member of the Tanzania Dairy Board (2005-2008), and Member of Committee on International Year of Planetary Earth (2008-2010)

Stefano Geuna (Italy)
Associate Professor of Human Anatomy (Neuro Science) at the Department of Clinical and Biological Sciences of the University of Torino, School of Medicine S. Luigi Gonzaga

Suleyman Kaplan (Turkey)
Professor of Histology and Embryology (Stereology), OndokuzMayis University

Mohammed Farahna (KSA)

Associate Professor of Behavioural Science, Department of Basic Health Sciences, College of Applied Medical Sciences, Qassim University, 51452 Buraydah, Saudi Arabia.

Trevor Sharp (UK)
Professor of neuropharmacology, Radcliffe Medical Fellow in Neuroscience, University College Oxford, Lecturer in Pharmacology, Corpus Christi College Oxford

Lloyd Morgan (USA)
Senior Research Fellow, health effects from exposure to electromagnetic radiation (EMR), Environmental Health Trust



Prof. Richard Tucker (1979-1980)

Prof. C.L. Kombo (1981)

Prof. Beda M.Kessy (1982-1987)

Prof. Uswege M. Minga (1988-1993)

Prof. Gabriel K.Mbassa (1993-1998)

Prof. Rudovic R.Kazwala (1999-2005)

Prof. S. I.Kimera  (2006-2009)

Prof. Joshua J.Malago   (2010-2013)

Prof. E.D.Karimuribo (2014-2016)

Prof. H.E.Nonga (2016-2018)